City Government

Council Assignments

City Council members divide responsibilities of serving on local and regional Boards and Commissions. 

Mayor Steve Ladwig: Redwood Regional Economic Development Corp.; Humboldt Transit Authority; California Coastal National Monument Trinidad Gateway Committee; Office of Emergency Services; Humboldt Mayors Committee

Dave Grover: Redwood Coast Energy Authority

Jack West: Humboldt Waste Management Authority; Humboldt County Association of Governments; Tsurai Management Plan Implementation Committee; Humboldt Transit Authority; Redwood Coast Energy Authority; Hazardous Materials Response Authority; Indian Gaming Benefit Committee; Tribal Government Liaison - (Trinidad Rancheria/Yurok Tribe); Trinidad Trails Committee

Tom Davies: Humboldt County Association of Governments; Trinidad Trails Committee

Trinidad City Council

The Trinidad City Council is comprised of five persons who are chosen by the City’s registered voters at general elections in even-numbered years. Council members must be resident of the City. Each is elected at-large to a four-year term. Should a vacancy occur before an election, the Council can appoint someone to serve the remainder of that term. The Council members select from themselves a Mayor and Mayor Pro-Tem who generally serve a two-year term.

The Council Members, with their end of term are:

Trinidad City Budget

The City annually adopts a fiscal year budget that begins July 01. The City typically approves the upcoming fiscal year budget in June.

Browse the Document Library section of this website to find the most current budget.